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Agency Background Document 

 

 
Agency name DEPT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation(s)  

12 VAC 30-120-731, 12 VAC 30-120-924, 12 VAC 30-120-1021 

Regulation title(s) Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services:  EPSDT Services; Waiver 
Services: Consumer-Directed Special Requirements (DD Waiver); 
Covered services; Limits on Covered Services and Consumer-
Directed Special Requirements (ID Waiver) 

Action title No Coverage of Overtime Hours for CD Personal Assistance, Respite 
and Companion Services 

Date this document 
prepared 

October 12, 2016 

 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 17 (2014) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 

 
 

Subject matter and intent 
 

 

Please describe briefly the subject matter, intent, and goals of the planned regulatory action.   
              

 
This action establishes that DMAS will not authorize or reimburse for more than 40 hours per 
week for consumer-directed personal assistance, respite and companion services for any one 
provider working for any one consumer. An attendant may exceed 40 hours of work in a week 
working for multiple consumers. (Consumers may receive more than 40 hours of service, if 
authorized, if more than one provider delivers that care.)  This limit will not apply to live-in 
attendants consistent with the U.S. Department of Labor's requirements (Fact Sheet 79B). This 
change has been required by the 2016 session of the Virginia General Assembly and eliminates 
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inconsistencies regarding pay for services in excess of 40 hours. This action applies to EPSDT-
covered attendant services as well as waiver-covered attendant services.   
 

 

Legal basis  
 

 

Please identify the (1) the agency (includes any type of promulgating entity) and (2) the state and/or 
federal legal authority for the proposed regulatory action, including the most relevant citations to the Code 
of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if applicable.  Your citation should include a specific 
provision, if any, authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well 
as a reference to the agency’s overall regulatory authority.      
               

The Code of Virginia (1950) as amended, § 32.1-325, grants to the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services the authority to administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance.  The Code of 

Virginia (1950) as amended, § 32.1-324, authorizes the Director of DMAS to administer and 
amend the Plan for Medical Assistance according to the Board's requirements.  The Medicaid 
authority as established by § 1902 (a) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1396a] provides 
governing authority for payments for services. 
 
The 2016 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 780 Item 306 PPPP states that, "The Department of 
Medical Assistance Services shall amend the state plan under Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act, and any necessary waivers, to reflect that no authority is provided for the payment of 
overtime for Medicaid-reimbursed consumer-directed personal assistance, respite and companion 
services. The Department shall implement the necessary regulatory changes and other necessary 
measures to be consistent with federal approval of any appropriate state plan and/or waiver 
changes, and prior to the completion of any regulatory process undertaken in order to effect such 
change."  
 

 

Purpose 
 

 

Please describe the specific reasons why the agency has determined that the proposed regulatory action 
is essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens.  In addition, please explain any potential 
issues that may need to be addressed as the regulation is developed. 
               

 
The purpose of this regulatory action is to clarify that no authority is provided for the payment of 
overtime for Medicaid-reimbursed consumer-directed personal assistance, respite and companion 
services and to clarify requirements that will be used to establish “live-in” status as defined by 
the U.S. Department of Labor.  This regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens in that it clarifies DMAS’ authority to adhere to requirements set forth in the 
2016 Appropriation Act.   
  
From January 1, 2016 to June 30, 2016, DMAS paid over $11 million in overtime payments 
alone (this figure does not include the normal rate paid for these services) to approximately 7,000 
providers.  The 2016 Appropriation Act disallowed the payment of overtime for Medicaid-
reimbursed consumer-directed services beginning on July 1, 2016. The U.S. Department of 
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Labor, however, requires that states provide an exemption to the overtime rule for attendants 
who live with the individual for whom they provide care.   
  
Since this law went into effect, an increasing number of providers have claimed the exemption 
under the Department of Labor rules for live-in attendants.  In December, 2015, less than 1000 
individuals claimed this exemption (and received overtime payments) but that number increased 
to over 3,000 individuals by the end of July, 2016.  
  
Live-in attendants are not paid an overtime rate for hours worked in excess of 40 per week; 
however, live-in attendants may work more than 40 hours per week at the standard rate. DMAS 
is considering options relating to the documentation or other requirements that will be required to 
establish "live-in" status as defined by the Department of Labor Ruling. 
 

 

Substance  
 

 

Please briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions that are being considered, the 
substantive changes to existing sections that are being considered, or both.   
              

 
This action affects the Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services: Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment Services as well as DMAS' home and community based waiver 
programs that offer consumer directed services. Waiver Services: Family and Individual 
Supports (FIS) (12 VAC 30-120-700 et seq.), Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 
(EDCD) (12 VAC 30-120-900 et seq.), and Community Living (CL) (12 VAC 30-120-1000 et 
seq.).      
 
Currently, all three affected waivers (FIS, EDCD, and CL) allow individuals to obtain personal 
assistance, respite, and companion services through either the agency-directed or consumer-
directed models of service delivery.  The agency-directed model relies on businesses whose 
employees provide the approved hands-on care of personal care services, respite services, and 
companion services. The consumer-directed model relies on the Medicaid-eligible individual to 
hire his own personal assistant or attendant while the individual or a family member performs 
employer functions (as the employer of record).  The Medicaid-eligible individual is allowed to 
choose either the agency-directed model or the consumer-directed model or some combination of 
both. 
 
Consumer-directed personal assistance, respite, and companion services are also covered for 
children via the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment benefit (12 VAC 30-50-
130 B) in the State Plan for Medical Assistance.   
 
The current policy in all three affected waivers (DD, EDCD, ID) and EPSDT is silent concerning 
the provision of overtime pay for assistants or attendants of consumer directed personal care, 
respite care and companion services. DMAS is currently receiving a consistent number of 
reimbursement requests that exceed 40-hours per week for assistants or attendants who serve a 
single consumer. Currently, no regulatory authority exists to authorize, reimburse, or deny 
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reimbursement to assistants or attendants who exceed the 40-hour per week limit.  The General 
Assembly provides no authority nor funding for overtime pay. 
 
The intent of this action is to ensure that Medicaid authorization and reimbursement for 
consumer-directed personal care, respite and companion services is limited to 40 hours per week 
for an attendant serving a single consumer. Attendants are still permitted to serve multiple 
consumers and be paid for more than 40 hours per week of work for multiple individuals. This 
limit will not be applied to live-in assistants or attendants consistent with the U.S. Department of 
Labor's requirements, under the authority of the Fair Labor Standards Act, as set out in Fact 
Sheet 79B. 
 
DMAS is complying with the legislative mandate contained in the 2016 Acts of Assembly 
previously referenced by proposing the 40-hour per week limit for reimbursement.  
 

 

Alternatives 
 

 

Please describe any viable alternatives to the proposal considered and the rationale used by the agency 
to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the action. 
Also, include discussion of less intrusive or less costly alternatives for small businesses, as defined in § 
2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, of achieving the purpose of the regulation. 
                   

 
There are no alternatives that would meet the requirements of the General Assembly mandate. 
 

 

Public participation 
 

 

Please indicate whether the agency is seeking comments on the intended regulatory action, including 
ideas to assist the agency in the development of the proposal and the costs and benefits of the 
alternatives stated in this notice or other alternatives.  Also, indicate whether a public hearing is to be held 
to receive comments. Please include one of the following choices: 1) a panel will be appointed and the 
agency’s contact if you’re interested in serving on the panel is _______; 2) a panel will not be used; or  

3) public comment is invited as to whether to use a panel to assist in the development of this regulatory 
proposal. 
              

 

The agency is seeking comments on this regulatory action, including but not limited to:   ideas to 
be considered in the development of this proposal, the costs and benefits of the alternatives stated 
in this background document or other alternatives, and the potential impacts of the regulation.   
 
The agency is also seeking information on impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-
4007.1 of the Code of Virginia.  Information may include:  projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs; the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; 
and the description of less intrusive or costly alternatives for achieving the purpose of the 
regulation.   
 
Anyone wishing to submit comments may do so via the Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov), or by mail, phone, or email to Emily McClellan, 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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Regulatory Supervisor, DMAS, 600 E. Broad Street, 804-371-4300, 

Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov.  Written comments must include the name and address 
of the commenter.  In order to be considered, comments must be received by midnight on the last 
day of the public comment period. 
 
A public hearing will not be held following the publication of the proposed stage of this 
regulatory action. 
 


